14 Comments
May 29, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

My partner is Japanese. He and I have been together for 12 years and I consider him my solemate. I truly believe that learing the Japanese language has given me unique insight into his point of view and cultural background. How the language is constructed very much reflects the Japanese mindset. A difficult mountain to climb but truly amazing!

Expand full comment
author

Completely agree. Having a partner from a different culture makes learning the language all the more intimate. And as with most things, a never ending process.

Expand full comment
May 30, 2022·edited May 30, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

A difficult mountain to climb but some great views to be had !

Expand full comment
May 29, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

After reading Hitchhiking with Buddha I have had Roads to Sata sitting around for years. I'll definitely make an effort to start reading it soon.

Expand full comment
author

It's definitely worth the investment of your time! Let me know what you thought of it when you have time to dive in.

Expand full comment
May 29, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Totally agree re Alan Booth - I first read him after coming back from Japan in the late 90s ... was missing Japan a lot and reading The Roads to Sata made me feel like I was still there. Such a shame that Alan died so young.

I got into studying the language after finding myself on the JET program in a remote part of Yamanasahi prefecture back in 1990! I try to keep up with nihongo currently via my job in the kitchen of a Japanese restaurant in London. I get to say "hai" a lot (normally after having made some mistake with a dashi or something).

Great to hear from you Bunsuke and all the best with the dissertation. Something Japan related, I'm guessing..

Cole

Expand full comment
author

Hi Cole, indeed a shame! Think of all the books he might have written if he had still been with us. Perhaps his works, and the very dated clip I uploaded, can help you relive the old Yamanashi days!

Expand full comment
Jun 12, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Do you have an idea yet on which date the next reading project will be? So that I can make sure I'm able to join. I'm really looking forward to it.

Expand full comment
author

I'm thinking around 24/25th of June

Expand full comment

Thank you for your quick answer. 24/25th of June will be no problem. And good luck with your PHD.

Expand full comment
May 29, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

The BBC book and TV series actually WERE published/released in 1991, as you guessed from hairstyles and fashion. The show must have been re-released ten years later. My good friend used the book to study in 1992, and I used it as a crash course a month before moving to Japan in 1997. We had the VHS tape. I watched so many times that I can still hear Yuka Nukina’s voice in my dreams sometimes, introducing me to the Kamikawa family from the Ono Valley, Kyushu, as the pastoral flute plays.

I can only reiterate what you have said about Alan Booth’s writing. The Roads to Sata and Looking for the Lost are among the best examples of travel writing about Japan that I’ve ever come across. They hold pride of place on our travel bookshelf. When I found out about his death (years after the fact), I felt a deep sadness, like hearing that an old dear high school friend had passed away. He had a great ‘voice’.

Thanks for posting that.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Arjay, yes that makes a lot of sense! It feels way too 90s to be a 00s show. I also remember purchasing the books, including the audio cassette tapes. I'm also very happy to see that so many people here are familiar with Alan Booth's work. Completely agree that he had a great voice, as you say. His words really transport you to Japan.

Expand full comment

I really got hooked on Japanese in college. I had a series of great Japanese teachers who really understood how to inspire and fascinate us with Japanese culture while teaching us the language. Back then, there was a weekly CNN show called “This Week in Japan” that our teachers played in class when lessons were done. At the peak of the bubble, the show featured regular reports of statospheric Ginza real estate prices alongside travel reports from exotic locations in Japan. It really caught my interest and eventually led me to study in Japan for a year.

I have Road to Sata on my bookshelf but haven’t read it yet. With your recommendation and those of others here, I’ll now relish diving in to read it.  

Best of luck on the dissertion, Bunsuke!

Expand full comment

Great to hear from you Bunsuke and indeed all the best with your dissertation. I have also watched the TV series on VHS, way back. It's fun to watch again and see how perception and times have changed. Thank you for posting this. It's a shame I haven't heard of Alan Booth, but now that I do, I really want to read: "The Roads to Sata". How is "Hitchhiking with Buddha"?, Mischa. I also look forward to an other immersion project. I have also been very busy, so I'm glad it will be in mid June, because I'm able to join.

Expand full comment