21 Comments
Mar 27, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

It doesn’t fit to the topic of your post, but I wanted to say thank you! I enjoy your newsletter a lot (nearly) every day and for me it already feels like reading Japanese got a bit easier. Most texts are a bit above my Japanese level, but maybe that’s the best way to learn new things. Dank je wel! :)

Expand full comment
author

Hi Valerie, thanks so much for your generous comment! You are always welcome to comment whatever you like under anything I post. I'm really happy to read that the newsletter benefits you in your (nearly) daily studies. And pushing yourself beyond your comfort zone is for sure the best way to improve quickly. Hope to hear from you again soon and get to know you a bit better over time. Good luck!

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you! Do you have Patreon or some other way we can support you?

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for asking! I'm actually in the process of setting up donations in the form of monthly/yearly subscriptions here on Substack and creating extra content for those who are willing to support the newsletter. This way I can keep the daily newsletter a free resource for everyone, which is really the most important thing for me. I'll be sure to send out an announcement once preparations are under way.

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

As a university student majoring in Japanese studies, I have struggled (and still struggle a little) with reaching a "native-like" level of fluency (which I think is quite common for anybody whose major has to do with a language), but over time I changed my approach. One of my teachers said something that I think many people forget - that language is not a goal, it is a tool, so I think making mistakes and speaking with an accent is not a bad thing, it's just a part of our learning process/identity, and especially in the case of Japanese, it is often hard to say what is correct or incorrect.

A tool that I use the most to improve my Japanese are books - for me, it is a great way to expand vocabulary, learn new sentence patterns, sayings or colloquialisms that aren't usually discussed in textbooks, but also what could be called as "passable mistakes" - what is seemingly a mistake but still works in a given language and usually has some implications (such as child speech).

Expand full comment
author

Hi Maoi, thanks for your comment! You make an excellent point. When we try to focus on getting to a certain level we sometimes forget that language is a tool and not a goal.

Books are such a great way of learning a language. It's the main idea behind this newsletter. I also really loved your point about passable mistakes, a topic which I think deserves its own thread!

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

On the topic of accent, one thing that made me feel less self conscious is the fact that non-standard accents don't need to be unpleasant. For example, I am Spanish and when talking in English, Spaniards have a pretty strong accent. I was watching a video the other day where someone was talking in English with an incredibly strong Spanish accent, and while I felt ashamed, the people on the comments were loving it. "Wow, everything said in a Spanish accent seems so interesting!" they said.

Thus, speaking Japanese in an Spanish or American accent doesn't make it worthless. We can try to aim for good pronunciation, sure, but we can be proud of the little mannerisms that define us. Impeccable Japanese spoken with a foreign accent is the result of many years and thousands of hours of effort, and we should be proud of it.

Expand full comment
author

Hi RDP, thanks for your comment! I completely agree with you that accents make language more interesting, especially at moments where they start influencing speech patterns in the language itself. You see this a lot with foreign タレント on TV, but also historically, much of what is now part of standardized Japanese language is a result of translations from the Meiji period. Though in this context of the native speaker, for people who aren't used to hearing foreign accents a lot, it is less strenuous to listen to accents closer to their own, at least in the examples I've experienced thus far.

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

First of all I really enjoyed reading all the replies of the question: "what is a native speaker?". It's nice to read your open-minded and honest anwers. I can only speak about my own experiences. Being a beginner I found it easier to get the pronounciation "right" when I didn't know ひらがな (hiragana) nor カタカナ (katakana) let alone 漢字 (kanji) When I just started I repeated what my native teacher said and I couldn't say much, but what I said sounded more Japanese, than later on. Soon I learnt the Japanese writing system something strange happened; it felt much harder for me to just repeat. I spent a lot of time on learning how to write in Japanese and noticed my pronounciation got worse instead of better. Now I'm trying to improve my pronunciation with the following book:"Shokyū Bunkei De Dekiru Nihongo Hatsuon Akutibiti"ISBN-13 : 978-4872177411. There are many resources on internet, but what I like about this book is that it uses very easy words and sentences with it's sole purpose to pay attention to the rhythm and pitch accents and thereby enhancing your pronunciation. It can be very hard for me at least to pick this up just by listening to anything on the internet. I think it is important to make your Japanese sound as Japanese as is possible, but I also agree with others that having fun should be most important thing, that language is just a tool and that it's al about getting the message across. Communication is the most important thing. Learning Japanese can sometimes be a struggle but I think we will never fail, unless we give up. We might never sound like a native, but the fact that we try and keep trying and to all those who keep trying they have my deepest respect for it shows real determination, hard work to achieve native level. I'm not there yet, not even close. Many novels here all also beyond my level, but it's so nice to have a forum like this and learn in this way.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Koppa, this is a really interesting experience. It probably also has to do with the fact that the more you study the more you realize how much you still have to learn. This adds psychological pressure, which in turn makes you more nervous about speaking. The beginning is always fun, because there's no way but up. The hard work, as you mention, comes after that. Maintaining your focus and enjoying the process are difficult, but so important.

I'm also glad that you are enjoying this platform. If you stick with the short excerpts I send out every day, you'll notice improvement over time. Because you create a habit, the skills you learn are much more permanent. Hope you keep enjoying reading literature in Japanese!

Expand full comment
Mar 29, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

your absolutely right, it feels like there is more pressure and my ability to speak so limited. I will indeed continue reading Japanese literature, as it's such a good way to improve my grammar, kanji and vocabulary and again your summaries are wonderful.

Expand full comment
author

Really happy to hear it!

Expand full comment
Mar 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Dear Bunsuke, your style of writing I appreciate as very charming. Your essay on the subject of native speech invites one to react positively on the statements. My experience in life has learned me to accept that language mostly is limited to what a person is able to learn in his lifetime: there is only one place or region on earth you can really call yours, and it originates from your childhood. For instance I will never be able to pronounce the dutch word 'bord' like a born Frisian; the sound is full of clay and tough wheather. Therefore it is remarkable that you have come so far in Japanese as to achieve your 'little' victories you described.

I must admit that I will not start learning Japanese, sorry for that, but it is a pleasure to have a glimpse of what is going on in your life and I wish you to be very successful.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Jan, dank voor je mooie commentaar! Het is natuurlijk nooit te laat om te beginnen met Japans... :)

Expand full comment

Very interesting post Bunsuke! I feel that in the end what matters is communication. With globalization each language starts having new nuances to accommodate the exposure to new words and expressions from other places , and there's nothing wrong with that.

I can't imagine you pulling the dutch "I fok horses" joke with japanese ahah

When will you drop a masterclass in deconstructing japanese sentences?

Expand full comment
author

Hi João, it's great to hear from you! Haha I'm surprised you know that joke! Please let me know if there are passages in particular that you struggle with, perhaps I can share it in a thread and we can deconstruct it together.

Expand full comment

When I worked as a tour guide I end up learning jokes from all over the world ahah

I don't have any passages in mind, but I think I speak for a lot a people that "making sense" of more complex japanese sentences are a big hurdle regarding reading and how the language works. So my biggest struggle reading really comes to making the connection between each part of the sentence and make sense from the whole thing. Makes me go gek

Expand full comment
author

This is good to know! I'm thinking of expanding a little over the summer, so this might be something to include…

Expand full comment
Mar 27, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I think that the goal to rich "native" level of any language is often could be obstacle to learn. For example, most of us will never have perfect accent. Or at some point you'll choose strange word order, etc. So while you're not spy you don't have to even bother to become native speaker and just have fun. What do you think?

Expand full comment
author

I completely agree! Having fun while learning is absolutely the most important thing. What is your favorite part of studying Japanese, Alveek?

Expand full comment
deletedMar 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Dear Aranka, thank you for your thoughtful comment! I agree completely that in the end communication is the most important thing. I'm currently also being confronted with my own limitations as a native Dutch speaker on a daily basis, as my wife is learning Dutch and asks me all sorts of questions to which I have zero answers...

(En leuk om te zien dat je je hebt ingeschreven voor de nieuwsbrief ;))

Expand full comment