22 Comments
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Bunsuke ! Thank you for the new project ! I might start a little early ;) I fixed the orientation of pages in this PDF : https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QGK9_EFXl06bqOnrNZZBNOcD7PK_WLBx/view?usp=sharing

Feel free to use this file !

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you so much, I tried turning the pages but couldn't do it. Now I can join in.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Jon, thanks so much for this!! I really need to learn how to do this stuff, haha!

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Learned from last time to start reading a bit earlier this time, looking forward to it!

Expand full comment
author

Haha yes the sooner you can start reading the better! Hope you enjoy this one as well!

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Downloading! 楽しみ!

たむらs

【田太他多夛 || 村邑邨】

俊子, about とし in names, I think it comes from archaic ku-adjective 利し, which meanings many: sharp, intense, agile, clever... and which takes many kanji, and I suspect, many 名乗りs too: like in 俊子

Expand full comment
author

Great! Hope you enjoy...

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

it will be my first time participating in smth like that, i'm looking forward to it!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Elena welcome to the project! Really looking forward to your comments!!

Expand full comment

Looking forward to start this one! Thank you again!!

Expand full comment
author

You're very welcome, hope you like the story :)

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

〱It took me a while to figure this character out, vertical repetition mark

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Japanese_typographic_symbols

Expand full comment
author

Yes, this one is very common, so worth remembering.

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

What does it mean? Is it like 々?

Expand full comment
author

It is a repeat sign, but it covers more characters than just one. you can use it to repeat larger sets of characters.

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Interesting author! I thought that you would choose another Murakami for the second round, or maybe you would snap and just make us all read Mishima Yukio 😂

I'm definitely joining this. I'm sometimes a bit lazy with the regular posts since the lack of context makes reading and understanding the situation harder than usual, but I had fun the last time. Hopefully I can spot some N2 grammar, since I'm now studying for it ^^

Expand full comment
author

Haha don't worry, I'm always calm and collected ;) I did think of doing Mishima, but I prefer Tamura's style much more. Hope you enjoy this one.

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I will also give it a try thank you so much. At the moment I'm trying to analyse an other book;Life for Sale (Japanese: 命売ります, Inochi Urimasu) by Yukio Mishima, but I can always come back to that later. Now I will attempt joining your project and start reading right now. Thank you so much.

Expand full comment
author

That is a great book! You'll enjoy it, no doubt. Great to read you'll join the project, I hope you will enjoy this short story.

Expand full comment
Aug 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Yay! Thanks Bunsuke! I look forward to this!!!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Peter, you're very welcome! Curious to hear what you think of the story :)

Expand full comment