59 Comments
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Bunsuke! Thanks for the tips and I noticed that you wrote that you read 5 hours a day. For me this is very impressive because although I do have the time to read, I just don't have the mental energy of that caliber ( The max I can do is 1 hour a day). Any tips on how to do that? do you check every word that you don't know the meaning at the dictionary? Or am I doing it wrong?

Thanks!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Harry, thanks for the generous comment! Those 5 hours refer only to that one summer where I was determined to read and finish my first book. One hour is perfect, especially if you can keep doing it every day consistently over a longer period of time. I now read about 3 hours a day, but that's because it's part of my full time job. An hour per day, or even 30 minutes a day, is already great! As long as you keep the consistency you should notice the returns over time. If you have, say, a month off over the summer, you might want to consider doing a week of intensive reading multiple hours per day to give yourself a boost, but this is probably not sustainable over longer periods of time (at least not for me). So don't worry, you're doing fine! Keep up the great work!

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thanks for the reply! I am currently in the middle of my holidays so I am planning to do just that. And by intensive reading, what is your method of doing that? Do you just read non-stop for a certain amount of time? Or do you write down words/phrases that are unfamiliar to you on paper? I don't really know how to approach this the best way, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Expand full comment
author

I did do a lot of writing and note making, but never to review later on. The simple act of writing down words and phrases helped me remember them. Great that you have some time now. I remember I felt like I was drowning in reading. It also feels like you're not making any progress while you're in the process, but you'll notice the benefits later on. Also make sure you take some serious time off after your week of intensive reading. What are you planning on reading?

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Well, I am planning on reading a novel. Or maybe a visual novel that has audio/voice lines as I feel like it's easier for me to understand it that way. Are there perhaps any recommendations on what to read?

Expand full comment
author

Perhaps you can start with a collection of short stories. The bulk of Japanese literature consists of short stories, so you'd have a lot of choice. Perhaps you can start with Murakami Haruki. The language is quite accessible, but as his writing is a bit surreal at times it might be a bit confusing at times. Still, a good place to start, I'd say. If you tell me what you're going to read, and I happen to own a copy as well, we can share your 7 day adventure here if you'd like. We can think about what that would look like, but it might be helpful for other people here to participate in the process. What do you think?

Expand full comment

I mean I'm down with your recommendation! I am honestly still in the middle of searching for stories to read so if you can lend me the pdf too that could really be helpful for me :D

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Bunsuke!

Good tips!

I would like to know how to get my hands on japanese e-books. Specially s/t like short stories collections. I gather Murakami Haruki is learner friendly.

I can't get them from amazon jp (bc rights? or maybe Im too dumb?), and in western amazons I can only find big blockbuster books like harry potter.

Got some good advice on this?

Much appreciated,

Jose.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Jose,

I don't own a Kindle, so I'm not sure, but I believe changing the language and location settings to Japan/Japanese allows you to download books from the Japanese Kindle store.

Let me know if this works...

B.

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I don't think thats it. It's more like how dvds, or games wont play in different regions. I'll give that a try anyway, it's been a while since.

You don't read ebooks then?

Expand full comment
author

Yeah give it a try, I recall that it worked for someone I knew, but that was a while ago so perhaps the policy has changed. Still worth a shot.

And no I never read ebooks, only paper. It's a bit of a hassle as they take up a lot of space but I still prefer the feeling of a real book to yet another screen. For me, reading is a time where I can get away from computers, and that's the way I want to keep it.

Expand full comment
Jul 28, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Jose,

Have you checked out Aozora Bunko? They have a collection of out-of-copyright stories and books that you can access for free, found here: https://www.aozora.gr.jp

We've read a few short stories from there in the USJETAA Japanese Reading Group (open to everyone and others might have good advice on where to find ebooks). Ogawa Mimei (sometimes called the Japanese Hans Christian Anderson) was fairly learner-friendly, and on Amazon there's a "Classic Japanese Fairy Tales" ebook series with many of his tales in both the Japanese and in translation, in case you want to be able to check your understanding. (I'm sure it's better to struggle, but sometimes it's nice to have a crutch)

Expand full comment
author

PS, I had never heard of this reading group. This looks really great. Do you organize it online?

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

It's a great group with very supportive fellow learners :) Daniel Morales is the organizer- I'll send him a note about your newsletter in case he hasn't found it already. He also has a blog over at http://howtojaponese.com

Expand full comment
author

Hi Sarah, thanks for this tip, I hadn't heard of this blog! Thank you for passing the newsletter on to Mr. Morales.

Expand full comment
author

Great tip, Sarah! Ogawa Mimei is such a great writer and very accessible. Miyazawa Kenji is also a great place to start. Thanks again for your comment :)

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for the recommendation! I'll be sure to check out his works next!

Expand full comment
author

You're welcome, let me know what you think!

Expand full comment

Thanks for the reply Sarah!

I finally managed to set up my own japanese account on bezos.co.jp

Reading Murazaki 労働しるんがやりがいんだよ

I'll write this down and take a look at your group too.

Cheers!

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Bunsuke! I gotta say, I pretty much feel the exact same way about #1 #2 and #3.

#2 and #3 remind me of the time I would go to Japanese websites where Japanese people post their novels and I'd try to read them on a daily basis. Just like you said, it's been hard and I often just skipped lines because I couldn't understand it anyhow (didn't drag me down though, just kept on going). In the end it's been very benefitial for my jp comprehension generally, reading can't be bad right haha

Also the #1 part about distractions and using pen and paper, yeah definitely this! I still sit in front of a laptop with chill music playing silently, but being able to focus and write with your hand truly is great.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Kuba, glad you recognized some of these points! It seems focus is definitely one of the issues most people struggle with. I'm happy to see you found something that works for you and allows you to concentrate.

Expand full comment
Jul 13, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thanks for your content Bunsuke! I recently (last week!) took the N5 exam because I wanted to have a clear goal to keep my motivation going, but I was already studying beyond the exam content (specially kanji and more natural japanese). My plan is to keep studying by myself, moving into Minna No Nihongo 4 and Tango N4 books, while trying to read real japanese content.

I'm currently reading "よつばと!", and learning a lot from it. Would you recommend trying to read a book for someone at my level, or is it still too early?

A series recommendation I could watch without subtitles would be great too! I'm trying to watch some of them, but I'd like to know if there's any you could recommend.

Expand full comment
author

Right now I'm watching ゴーストライター, it's quite entertaining! Let me know when you get your N5 results, お疲れさま on taking the test. I'm sure it went well!

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Bunsuke! Thank you very very much for the techniques you mentioned! These arrived exactly when I was feeling kinda saturated and didn't know how to go ahead! I'll always be grateful for this one article :) Kore kara mo yoroshiku onegaishimasu!

PS : Looking forward to new stories from you everyday :) :)

Expand full comment
author

Hi Aishwarya, thank you for your thoughtful compliment. I'm really glad these tips helped. If you ever need help, just send me an email and ask me anything. I'm happy to help out.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi thank you for this! Curious how you balanced #2 and #3 especially when you were first being able to read novels and books? I hear it referred to in another resource as reading deeply vs reading broadly? Looking up words and grammar can sometimes get very tedious, but I’m never sure how much I’m actually learning, or if I’m missing important points if I just skim along. Did you just feel it come together over time?

Expand full comment
author

Hi Jeff, yes this balance is difficult. It was mostly that, when I read my very first book, I had to look up absolutely everything, and even then I didn't understand many of the sentences. My point here was that in those moments, it's ok if you don't understand everything. I remember I did my best to understand everything, sometimes spending an hour on one sentence. But after that I would just move on. I think most people simply give up because they draw the conclusion that the book is too difficult for them. But I don't agree with this approach. Give it your best effort and move on once you've done everything to understand what it says. After that first book and a short break from reading (about two weeks), I noticed that my reading speed and comprehension had increased when I opened another book. I had to look up less, saw some of the words and patterns I had struggled with in the first book in a different context, which cleared up some of my initial confusion. By repeating this process I got better over time.

And absolutely, looking up things can become tedious. Once you get to a level where you don't have to look up absolutely everything, you might want to consider splitting your days up into "reading days" where you force yourself to keep reading no matter what, and "dictionary days" where you can look up whatever you don't understand.

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you so much Bunsuke for your advice. And I will keep your advice in mind, especially about comparing. There is always someone with less time studying Japanese that is better than me and then as you put it I feel 'behind'. The past few days I have been a bit stuck with my Japanese studies. Genki is good, but having come to the last chapters I still feel I can’t speak. It’s all about grammar and vocabulary. All my spare time I’m studying, but without real improvement. As you mentioned I would also want it not to feel like work. I’m getting tried. The “rote memorization” of vocabulary, grammar and kanji, makes me forget more than not. So I’m trying a different approach. I now trying to learn Japanese through stories and found a excellent link on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sBPNXTwpek&list=PLJov1NnDE_N_92MtmRyQknjavXa1oLSuM&index=11 (N5 level)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbEN55Ti1k4&list=PLJov1NnDE_N_92MtmRyQknjavXa1oLSuM&index=66 (N2 level)

Some of you might find it childish, because it’s at N5 level, but they also have stories at N2 level. All the stories are read by a native speaker and the kanji contains furigana. No subtitles which is good, but the difficult words are explained in English. It’s a fun way to learn grammar, vocabulary and kanji. Additional to that I’m now learning the meaning of kanji with stories with this excellent book: https://www.amazon.com/Kanji-Months-Meaning-Kanjis-Japanese/dp/B094SZRXLM/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=Max+Chahua&qid=1625933131&s=books&sr=1-3

I’m reading a lot and I order my Japanese books at this bookstore: https://verasia.eu/

They are located in Spain and it’s a paradise for Japanese learners of all levels. As some mentioned I also dislike digital books and I still prefer the paper books.

It's lovely that we can now have a forum to share this information.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Koppa, thank you very much for sharing these resources! Are you happy with the services of the online bookstore? I still mostly use Japanese Amazon. When I order in bulk, the shipping cost isn't too bad.

Practicing your speaking can be a challenge, especially in these times of isolation. Perhaps I can start thinking about a solution for this. Let me get back to you ;)

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you in advance

Expand full comment
author

you're welcome!

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Your welcome. Yes, I'm very happy with Verasia. They also have the latest published books. They delivery very fast and shipping rate for Belgium is only 4 euro. So that's not too bad.

Expand full comment
author

that's very cheap indeed! thanks for the tip!

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for this! How does one go about finding Japanese friends while not being in Japan? Curious to hear your tips.

Expand full comment
author

Hi MoodyPond, yes finding native speaker is sometimes challenging. When I just started out, the Japanese exchange students of other departments always found their way to the Japanese language department, as they also wanted to make local friends and build somewhat of a social life.

But I realize not everyone has this option. At least here in Holland, there is a large Japanese community that tends to stick together. They have a cultural center that is open to everyone. If you go to places like this, the chances you'll find someone to talk to are quite good. It might take some time to find someone who you really want to make friends with, but it might be a start. Otherwise, online language exchange forums might be a place to start en build some networks. Perhaps these are some places to start from?

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

There are so very few Japanese students at my university, much less people that get involved in the Japanese department. But thank you! Are you aware of any specific online language exchange forums?

Expand full comment
author

Ah yeah that makes it more difficult. I don't know of any forums, but I'll have a look around and let you if I find anything.

Expand full comment

Yeah and it's a pretty big college in the States so all the more perplexing... But that'd be great, thank you!

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

What I literally did, was look on Facebook and saw that a friend of a friend of mine were Japanese. Then I just sent them an chatmail, explaining how I'm learning Japanese and so on. We later had the change to meet them in real life in Japan for the first time. (before Corona) and now we write and we are friends. Sometimes (before corona) when I see or think that there are Japanese people I speak to them in Japanese, and maybe they can become friends, you never know and if not, you did speak Japanese to a native. It is a bit daring, and I would normally never do something like that, but in other cultures it is more common to speak to strangers on the streets or in the train and start a conversation, and why not? The Japanese people I spoke in Brussels really reacted well and found it wonderful and fun that I spoke or tried to speak in Japanese.

Expand full comment
Jul 12, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for the tips! Unfortunately I live in a small town (a university town, but yeah), but I'll try my chances!

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for the post, it's very inspiring! I'll come back and reread it once I am free from my exams ^_^

The tip about the "no-distractions study place" reminded me of the times dictionaries were only on paper... Now you'll need at least one screen for a digital dictionary ^^"

(I was about to ask about kindle and its Japanese dictionaries too, but it's okay. If I have a chance to try out if it's comfortable reading in Japanese on kindle, I'll write about it here, in case anyone is interested.)

Expand full comment
Jul 10, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Good luck with your exams, are they Japanese related?

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you! It seems that in my university they now have a Japanese class (it wasn't the case when I was a student), so I plan to enrol in university one more time. I hope it goes well ><

Expand full comment
author

You'll do great! And we're here if you need help.

Expand full comment
Jul 11, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

頑張ります~

Expand full comment
author

応援してます!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Victoria, good luck with your exams! Any of them in or about Japanese?

Yes, all of my dictionaries are (very heavy!) print editions. I really like going through these and find words that I wasn't looking for...I tend to lose track of time like this often.

Sorry, I have no experience with Kindle dictionaries, so if you get a chance, please let us know your thoughts! :D

Expand full comment

Excellent list! I used to record NHK news on the radio and try to transcribe it. This helped my listening as well as reading, writing, and grammar skills! Finding something one enjoys that is sustainable is key. A thing I do now is watching Japanese Netflix shows with the Japanese subtitles on. It can really aid in understanding when one can't catch all that is said. Watching in a third language with Japanese subtitles instead of English is also good practice. I'll watch Korean or Chinese shows with Japanese subtitles.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Madeleine, thanks so much for your generous comment. It sounds like you're already doing quite a few things from this list. Have you had the chance to go to Japan and test your skills?

Expand full comment

I've actually been living in Japan for the past 40 years, but learning never stops, and I often find something in your daily mailings that I didn't know. I've never read much literature in Japanese although I can read newspapers etc..(I've passed JLPTN1), so your mailings are helping me to get up the courage to try reading a novel.

Expand full comment
author

Haha so you've had plently of chances to practice! I'm glad the newsletter is encouraging you to read more literature. When you read novels, you notice how much there is still to learn. It's a never ending process. Let me know which novel you end up picking!

Expand full comment