4 Comments

I enjoyed this stretch! I am curious to see how this is going to wrap up. For those out there feeling discouraged, I think this section is a bit easier. My favorite phrase: 猶更倦怠 ... At first I thought, aha, a new 四字熟語! But it turns out that 猶更 is a rare kanji form of なおさら, so this is just two unconnected words, 猶更 and 倦怠 (https://www.kanshudo.com/searchq?q=猶更倦怠). And of course 倦 is 人名用 not 常用 so it uses the old form of 巻 on the right side, for those of you feeling a strange sense of deja vu ... Finally, I had no idea 襯衣 is ateji for シャツ ... So many rabbit holes!!

Expand full comment
author

Haha yeah this readings are always fun. 猶更 is something I see quite a lot, so this one might be worth remembering.

Expand full comment
Sep 3, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

now, that part was really hard T.T all those descriptions of the performance, took me some time to figure them out. but the finishing line is close, and i really can't wait to find out how the story ends!

Expand full comment
author

you're almost there Elena!! Curious to hear what you think of the rest of the story!

Expand full comment