14 Comments
Jul 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hello Bunsuke! Sorry I couldn't post my remarks yesterday on time. But it seems that there was something in common in yesterday's reading and today: it is the fact that I find it easier for me to understand what people are talking about rather than describing things.

What this means is that the amount of Kanjis that I can't identify is more when the author is describing things, compared to when two characters interact with each other. And why I think about it, this makes sense because people wouldn't really use flamboyant or exquisite words when talking with other people. Whereas authors usually use figures of speech when doing a description. I wouldn't have really realized this if not for reading in a foreign language.

As always, thanks for setting this up Bunsuke!

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I just wanted to share that I was really far behind but this community of readers motivated me to dive in and just do as much as I could. I started writing things down on paper, like Bunsuke said, and it took forever. But then a funny thing happened: my scanning speed started to pick up and somehow the pace increased. I have pages of vocabulary words and my sieve-like mind will need to go back after forgetting what I wrote, but somehow the process worked a little bit. I feel like a different reader than I did a couple days ago.

Now I need to go back and see what I missed ;)

Expand full comment
Jul 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi everyone! I hope you´re all doing great with the reading! For me it´s being an awesome and challenging experience! Due to boring but unavoidable work schedules, I´m a bit off the pace. Bunsuke, is it possible to post comments (questions, etc.) on each of the threads even after the project has finished?

By the way, regarding what you asked me about my final tactic approach to the text, I think once one has gotten used to the Jisho radical search (or got an OCR) and the vocab look up can speed up, everything smoothes a bit, because you get more sense of fluency. This project has also given me, by the way, new wake-up-calls as to how contextual Japanese is. Battling with それ, それだけ and so on I think is great not only because of the need to interpret to what it is referring, but because of the fact that you can apply it to the vocab analysis in itself, not worrying too much about the exact meaning of a word but more to what it actually wants to describe in the determined context. That happened to me with 要領.

Let´s continue enjoying the reading!

Expand full comment
Jul 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Super short update today! Yesterday I compiled a billion questions which Bunsukeさん kindly spent time answering - I really, really appreciate it! I haven't yet had the opportunity to really comb through those replies yet, so I'm hoping to get to that today ^^"

Plans for today include the above, then hopefully reading on!

I'm finding one of the more useful annotations to make is to underline set phrases to remind me they exist when rereading - it's great to be exposed to how they appear in context.

Again, I really appreciate it what this project is doing, and it's great to see other people taking a shot at it too!

Expand full comment

Hi everyone!!

Today's section was pretty intense, so much so that I was behind (I'm reading Day 4 on Day 6) but I just kept reading and now I'm caught up! So much happened! It was so painful to read about the treatment that 大沢 received from his classmates, especially the part about no one wanting to be on his team during PE class.

I feel like my reading is a lot smoother now, I'm guessing because I've gotten used to the writing style and/or there are less kanji/vocab words I am unfamiliar with.

Hope everyone is enjoying the reading practice, and thank you Bunsuke for this opportunity!

Evelyn

Expand full comment

Hi! From this section, I'm wondering about the function of なりの in 警察に呼ばれるからには呼ばれるなりの根拠があるんだろうってみんな思っちゃうんです。

Expand full comment