7 Comments
Mar 4, 2022·edited Mar 4, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

I guess those critics' words must have really got to Kimura since he worries even about what they'll think of his hat...

Tha part with the flowers was challenging because I have no idea what those flowers are called in my mother tongue ^^" Had to google the pictures :D And do I understand correctly that '草花を造っている' = '草花を育っている' ?

As for Kimura's wife, I can't identify with her at all because I don't care about fashion, to me looking clean and neat is enough :) And if I got it right and she told him to buy a hat using the money he (they?) had wanted to save, then I def can't identify with her :D

Expand full comment
author

Haha so perhaps we should side with Kimura for not giving in to the latest fads and fashions!

Yeah plant names are a challenge. Maybe the illustrations at the bottom of the page can also help you out a bit.

You're correct about 造る, although here I would use the transitive 育てる.

Expand full comment
Mar 7, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Good golly. My inability to care even the tiniest bit for botanics is once again catching up with me in this segment. Anyway.

I had trouble on page 434, column 7 from the right, with ...婦人がらなくてもいいよ。 I see the "てもいい" (no need to ...) pattern but can't understand what comes after 婦人. is this がる as in 欲しがる ? I'm lost. Help :)

Expand full comment
author

or 'acting like…' 〜のように振る舞う

Expand full comment
author

Hi Jon, haha you can gloss over the plants, they're not hugely significant. The がる here means 'pretending to be…'. Hope this helps!

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Kimura's wife doesn't need to be so kind? I'm not really sure. Anyway as usual here is the link to my wordlist and I look forward to the zoom on Sunday. Reading all your comments is so helpful in gaining an understanding of the story. I really start to dislike Kimura, but don't really know why.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/18_Ggk6CaMzfGHRi0m3My-VmCGxpkldMt/view?usp=sharing

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for sharing Koppa! Haha I have a love/hate relationship w Kimura as well. It's hard to tell whether you should ridicule him or praise him for his unwavering adherence to his own beliefs.

Expand full comment