9 Comments
Mar 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Hey all,

My notes :

- I didn't know もそもそ (i knew モゾモゾ through) https://jisho.org/search/mosomoso

- I'm a little confused by the negative form in (7th column from left) 私はじっと息をひそめていないふりをしていた。

I thought it would be ひそめている. Why negative ? "I did as if i was holding my breath" made more sense to me... thoughts ?

- I didn't know そろそろ could be used to mean "slowly, steadly" as in その隙間から鼻がそろそろと差し込まれた.

That's all :)

Expand full comment
author
Mar 24, 2022·edited Mar 24, 2022Author

Hi Jon, I can see how this was confusing! It's not ひそめていない but ひそめて、いないふりをしていた → "I held my breath and pretended I wasn't there". Otherwise your version would have made more sense ;)

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Aaaah yes. The ている didn't feel justified either... Please report the scandalous lack of comma to Murakami's editor ASAP - somebody think of the children !

Expand full comment
author

I have already ordered the hit…it's just a matter of time now.

Expand full comment

I also think it means gradually deepened.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2022·edited Mar 24, 2022

I also didn't know もそもそ, but they seem to use onomatopoeia all the time in Japanese texts. Some are really funny like this one found in the text:コンコンコンコン, knock-knock.

Expand full comment
Mar 24, 2022·edited Mar 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Hereby a short wordlist:https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1HuGb-dIjFfzL-qbpSTSYYyRHfDdnE5dr?usp=sharing

やがて稚の木の恨元のあたりの地面が、まるで重い水が地表に噴きあがるような格好でもそもそと盛り I think this first sentence might be very important to understand what is going on in the story. The ground near the root of the tree began to bulge upward, thick heavy liquid were rising.

悲鳴を上げることすらできなかりた。She couldn’t scream. You can sense the fear.

I like the description of the monster and the meaning of the eyes were like human eyes, because is significant, I believe. でも目だけが普通の人聞の目をしていて、

でも獣は私の考えを見すかす様に、にやにや笑い She is wondering whether the monster can read her thoughts? Is it a monster or a beast?, I think monster is more correct seeing the title is also The little green monster and beast is more animal like, and she mentions the human eyes. I was just wondering.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks again for sharing your list! You're missing one stroke in your 濃, but otherwise perfect!

It's really great to see you grow and make progress. You are developing a great sense for grasping the details of the narrative!

Expand full comment

Thank you, Bunsuke, for doing this project with one of my favourite authors. It's getting more fun and I'm so happy I seem to understand a little bit more now. Writing kanji by hand is still very difficult, but that's why I still want to do this. Much easier to let computer produce the kanji, but in this way I remember better. Good you noticed a stroke was missing. I try to pay more attention next time.

Expand full comment