17 Comments
Jun 23, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

As usual I made a small wordlist:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AszVX6A_cyJ9eX2I8MiqdBOeAME (please ignore the kanji written in black)

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AszVX6A_cyJ9enCOzHK8asyH9Uw

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AszVX6A_cyJ9e8-mHgUXjP_Gylw

コンビニエンスストアは、音で満ちている。

I like this first sentence, because it describes the convenience store as a place full of sound, which is indeed so. It seems so real, you get a sense of what it is like working there.

The following sentence also appeals to me, because it describes the way her body moves automatically, responding to the various sounds.

その音に反応して身体が勝手に動くのだ。

素早く店内を移動して I also like this sentence because it describes the manner in which she moves through the store.

I wasn"t sure about the word 売り場, but I could guess the meaning.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks as always for the wordlist!!

Expand full comment

Thank's for posting! I would like to join the live discussion in the future.

Expand full comment
author

Fantastic, I look forward to seeing you tomorrow!

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Same as others above, I find the excerpt suits my level perfectly and went ahead to buy the book today. This might actually be a jumpstart for me to enjoy Japanese literature, despite several failed attempts in the past when the materials were a bit too difficult and exhausting.

I read <Convenience Store Woman> in maybe 2020 and really liked it. A little far into the pages - I found when the protagonist was recounting herself being a weird and "ruthless" kid, the Japanese original, with those simple "わからない", exudes a much colder and more emotionless tone than what I remembered in English.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

I also bought the book together with the translated version yesterday. It's fun to read and I also find it quite manageable. Even at just N5/N4 level the images are simple, so it's easy to follow. I also like the bit (reading ahead) about how they saw her as a not normal kid and found her reasoning quite logic and normal seen from a small child's view.

Expand full comment
author

Really glad to hear you're enjoying the book! And I agree, the Japanese language is in this case much better equipped to convey the emotional state of the protagonist.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

I think this project is perfect for my level. Thank you for the opportunity! :) I also have a question regarding the food items. 「あまり売れないおかかのおにぎりは端っこだ」。Is おかかのおにぎり the triangle-like rice ball wrapped in seaweed? or a special kind? and what is 端っこ? Sorry for the simple questions. Thank you again.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Emma, really glad to hear you're enjoying this! And I see some other community member were nice enough to answer your questions already!

Expand full comment

Hi Bunsuke, yes indeed, a very nice community with common interest!

Expand full comment

Yeah I think you have the right image for the onigiri. the specific flavor is おかか or bonito fish flakes.

I think sentence is talking about how the specific kind of onigiri doesnt sell well and it is placed on the 端っこ(はしっこ) or edge.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

@Matthew, Oh Yes, I see it now, of course! on the edge! Thank you. :)

Expand full comment
Jun 23, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

As I have already read the novel and because the language used is quite simple, I have no issues to ask. I like the sounds of this shop. I have never thought that a shop can be such a rich source of sounds...

One questions only - what is 明太子?

Expand full comment
author

I always loved to get the 明太マヨおにぎり!I miss those so much...:D

Expand full comment

It's read as めんたいこ and the meaning is walleye pollack roe.

Expand full comment
Jun 24, 2022Liked by Bunsuke

Thanks! When I checked the word in the browser graphics I got something that looked like a row chicken breast. Now it's clear:)

Expand full comment

This is exactly right around my level with enough new things to look up and continue reading making it enjoyable and educational :)

Looking forward to the live discussion.

Expand full comment