6 Comments
May 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I just made a donation! Congratulations on your successful newsletter! It's successful because there is nothing like it, because you clearly have an excellent knowledge in the Japanese language and literature, but more importantly you have the skills and people with know-how with computers to make this all possible. You are helping me a lot so, I'm glad to support you in anyway I can. By the way I followed your advise and I'm now reading 告白 from Kanae Minato and pleasantly surprised that I'm able to read the first pages. I believe it is thanks to your newsletters I read daily.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Koppa, thank you so much for your generous donation! It really means a lot to me and helps me sustain the platform. But more importantly I'm very happy to read that you're starting to notice progress in your reading proficiency! You've been studying so diligently, and now you're starting to notice the benefits. Fantastic! Keep going, it's only going to get more fun from here on out.

Expand full comment
May 29, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for all the work you put into these news letters. I find myself still trying my best to read them even if i can't read everything. Your efforts help motivate me! ありがとうございます!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for your kind words, C.J. I'm glad to hear the newsletter is helping to keep you motivated. I know it's tough to keep continued focus on your studies sometimes, but stick with it! Over time, you'll notice big improvements.

Expand full comment

Thank you for considering how you can reach the widest audience while still being fairly compensated for your time and effort! You are doing amazing work.

Personally, I like options one and three (with a bit of option two included). Please keep making free content for those who cannot afford to pay. I think that is a generous way to help those who would benefit from the high quality resources you are providing. I think it's fine to provide extra resources for those who donate. And option three essentially allows other patrons to generously contribute to a "scholarship fund" that benefits highly-engaged students who have limited financial resources.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Christopher, thanks for your generous comment. For me, this was the most social and humane way that I could think of to sustain the platform long term while still serving the largest possible audience. I'll always keep creating content accessible to everyone, no matter where they live or what their financial situation is.

Expand full comment