31 Comments
AnonymousSep 3, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Just read through the comments here about classical music (a bit delayed in catching up with my email CLEARLY) and wanted to chime in briefly to share that my beloved grandfather was second trombonist in an orchestra here in the states! (and he played some piano too - same goes for me and my mother). And great photo haha

Expand full comment
author

Hi Julianne, that's incredible! Do you still play the piano? And are there any recordings of your grandfather?

Haha thanks, I used to be cute ;)

Expand full comment
AnonymousSep 4, 2021

Unfortunately not - I’d definitely pick it up again if I had a spare piano lying around. I’m weirdly actually more proficient at bagpipes at this point haha… I don’t have access to those anymore either though. So just guitar and mandolin for me! I’ll find you a recording of my grandfather!!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi Bunsuke, Daniel here!

First of all, many thanks for taking the time to let us know you a little better! Also, a million thanks

once again for all the work you put in the newsletter and in the immersion projects (I´m joining in 生血 too).

Contributing to the self-introductory nature of this thread, I´ll also give you a few facts about me :)

-Actually doing a PhD in Philosophy and Literature in Madrid, Spain (my hometown). We´re PhD buddies :)

-I started watching anime out of nowhere in March 2020 and instantly became passionate about it. This led me to the start of my Japanese studies about a month later. Thanks to your newsletter, I´ve discovered the fascinating world of Japanese literature.

-I´m a very quiet and independent person, probably not very sociable (No Instagram, Twitter, etc.) I too don´t like big crowds and would prefer meeting just a friend than 5.

Other passions: Reading (and daydreaming with the reading) and classical music (especially opera).

Nice to meet you!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Daniel! Wow we're a lot alike! What's your field/topic for your PhD. I'm reading a lot of Baudrillard now but I know these postmodernists are usually taken less serious in philosophy departments…

I also listen mostly to classical music, but mainly piano and chamber music.

And I feel like I already have a PhD in daydreaming!

It's really nice to get to know you, hope to learn more soon.

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I´m working on Spanish 17th-century literature and its connections with neo-stoicism. Wow, I´m so glad to hear you are also into philosophy! We definitely have a lot in common! Well, you´d be surprised to see how many people here in Spain work in late-20th century philosophy and postmodernism. In fact, all of my PhD peers are tackling contemporary issues.

It´s also really nice to hear you like classical music! I play the piano myself, and I also love piano and chamber. In fact I was listening today to some Beethoven trios.

I don´t want to go off topic since this is a self-introduction thread haha. Really nice talking to you :)

Expand full comment
author

Haha I have to ask…which trio was performing? Yes, everyone in my family is either an artist or a classical musician, so I used to play the piano quite seriously myself until I discovered I had no talent ;D

Your topic sounds fantastic! And that's surprising; in my head everyone in philosophy departments is doing either Hegel or Kant…

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Beaux-Arts. Absolutely love them. I was re-enjoying "Ghost" and "Archduke"

Wow, I think the last time somebody did a PhD on Hegel at my department I hadn´t been born yet haha

Expand full comment
author

Beaux-Arts, my favorite! Especially the early recordings, with the original trio. Altenberg Trio is also incredible, if you're looking for something different.

Expand full comment
Sep 4, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

They are wonderful, aren´t they? Thanks for the recommendation! I haven´t had the chance to listen to them, so I´ll definitely check their recordings!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

P.S: I forgot to mention how awesome it is you have a family of artists and musicians! I´m the rare classical-music lover in mine :(

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you Bunsuke for the wonderful introduction! Your daily newsletter really helps me a lot to improve my Japanese and I'm really grateful for you :) I hope you continue the good work

お疲れ様です!

PS : I'm really surprised about how much we have in common XD

Expand full comment
author

Hi Aishwarya, glad you're enjoying the newsletter! Now I'm curious to hear about what we have in common ;)

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

XD Almost all of the random facts about you resonate with me :)

メールアドレス教えてもらえますか?日本の大学院のことちょっと質問がありますので、聞いてもいいですか?

Expand full comment
author

もちろん!私が毎日送っているメールに返信したら届きますよー!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

ありがとうございます!よろしくお願いします :) <3

Expand full comment
author

こちらこそ!メール、楽しみに待ってます。

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

it's nice to meet you! ^^ your newsletter helps me to maintain consistency in my studying, thank u!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Elena, happy to hear the newsletter is helping you in your daily studies! Hope you enjoy the reading project and the snippets to come.

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for creating this newsletter; even though I can currently barely read Japanese, I hope one day I will be able to read and understand these literary snippets. ありがとうございます

Expand full comment
author

Hi Fabrice, glad to hear you like the newsletter! And don't worry, just try a sentence here and there and you'll get the hang of along the way.

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for creating the opportunity - it is more then helpful since I struggle with consistency in my studying pattern. Glad I came across your newsletter. I am grateful:)

Expand full comment
author

Hi Yash, you're very welcome, hope you enjoy the project!

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Kurosawa's Ikiru, Shichinin no samurai and Dersu Uzala(1975) are really masterpiece.

I love Ikiru more than Rashomon and others.

Any other good movies recommendation?

Expand full comment
author

Have you seen Tokyo Monogatari?

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Yes. Old(Ozu), Setsuko Hara a timeless beauty. New adaption Yoji Yamada(Tokyo Kazuko 2013) with a little twist at the end. Love both of them.

Expand full comment
author

Great stuff! What about Manbiki kazoku?

Expand full comment

Yup. That too Lily Franky, Sakura Ando and ofcourse the children too. If you love family dramas checkout

永い言い訳(2016)

湯を沸かすほどの熱い愛(2016)

Eureka(2000) 3h37m long.

Expand full comment
Aug 29, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

And yes, I think I would be very nice to hear about your stories. For I feel all are experiences about Japan and learning Japanese are different, but so many things are similar and it would be very interesting for those wanting to take this road, being on this road or thinking about studying Japanese or going to Japan and also very similar to those who are looking back at the journey they have taken.

Expand full comment
Aug 29, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for introducing yourself once more and adding interesting information. I feel we have things in common, I'm also very social, but like you tend to stay away from crowds. Love to meet you and others on this site one day, to share our Japanese passion of learning. Lovely photo, by the way of you when you were little and what a wonderful experience to be able to visit Japan at such a young age. My own learning journey goes up and down, like a roller coaster, but I would like to take a short language course in Japan when it is possible again. Learning Japanese in Japan must be amazing.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Koppa, great I'll see if I can get it off the ground! Hope you'll get to go to Japan and do a course there when the country opens up again.

Expand full comment