23 Comments
Jun 7, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Hi, Bunsuke先生!

Your suggestions are very interesting, and I definitely enjoy the newsletter. But I still feel like my Japanese is far from being able to read their full works. I've been trying to get into Japanese literature (I've only been reading manga so far) and I bought キノの旅1 and 失われる物語. I stopped reading "real" books since middle school and I'm trying to get into it too, but it's hard. Do you have any tips or stories? thank you <3

Expand full comment
author

Hi RPD, I'm really glad to hear you're trying to get back into literature. Perhaps you can start with some short stories, or some easier to read longer novels. I always love Miyazawa Kenji, who writes very accessibly, but whose work is very layered. You could also try short stories by Murakami Haruki, whose language usage is often not too difficult, but content-wise is sometimes a bit out there, which may slow you down in the beginning. Still, worth checking out I think. Let me know what you end up picking ;)

Expand full comment
Apr 7, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

wow a few of my favorites too! i also love dazai osamu and endo shusaku

Expand full comment
author

Dazai is another one of those authors that should have been on this list! Which book by him did you enjoy the most?

Expand full comment
Apr 7, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I love The Setting Sun and No Longer Human. Both really tragic stories!

Expand full comment
author

Very tragic but so interesting! Perhaps I'll do The Setting Sun for today's post. Thanks for this!

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

One of my favourite modern writers is Enchi Fumiko for her ability to adapt from classical Japanese literature and Noh drama and then recast it in a modern setting. She was also rather influenced by Tanizaki as well. Other novelists I'd mention, that may not already be here are Kawakami Mieko, Oe Kenzaburo, Kirino Natsuo, Kawabata Yasunari, and Murata Sayaka. I love Murakami Haruki, too. But above all, I consistently return to Zeami, Ono No Komachi, Izumi Shikibu, Dogen, Sei Shonagon and Murasaki Shikibu.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Joseph, thanks so much for your contribution! I actually love Enchi Fumiko as well, and regret forgetting to put her on the list. I see you have a love for the classics. Many authors in the modern period shared this fascination with the past. Enchi, Tanizaki, and Kawabata are among them, as you already mentioned. Perhaps you would also enjoy the work of Yosano Akiko. Do you read mostly in translation or do you read the classical originals (or maybe Tanizaki's modern rendering of The Tale of Genji)?

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you so much for the amazing recommendations. They embed years of experiences and careful thoughts. Really grateful for your sharing of this list.

Expand full comment
author

Hi Emma, you're very welcome! Which writer appeals to you the most?

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for this great recommendation list! I've kept Miyamoto Teru in my "reading plan" list for so long that I've almost forgotten about him ^^"

I couldn't agree more about Natsume Souseki, he is great! I can't say I love all of his novels but I reread "Bocchan" once in some years, it's just too funny. And Watashi no kojinshugi is dope, love all that keigo and the ideas.

When I say to my Japanese friends that I like Tanizaki they all start grinning automatically. His style is quite... sensual, so to say. But I regret nothing xD

Expand full comment
author

Haha yeah Tanizaki always makes people go red in the face…but you're right to regret nothing ☺️

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I've enjoyed the fairly surreal poems of Shigeji Tsuboi and the satirical ones of Kaneko Mitsuharu, but have only read a few.

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I also like poetry, like haiku's even wrote some, but it isn't easy. Might read the poems of Shigeji Tsuboi, don't really know them. So thank you for sharing.

Expand full comment
author

Wow, those are very niche! How did you get into Japanese poetry?

Expand full comment
Apr 6, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

I came across them in anthologies.

Expand full comment
author

Cool! Those are great for getting a grasp for what's out there.

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you so much for sharing your favorite authors. It’s lovely to read what you Bunsuke and others enjoy reading.

I like reading in general and of course reading Japanese literature a lot. The following books I haven’t read, with exception of “Kinkaku-ji “and “The sound of the mountain”. I would like to be able to read all the books beneath in Japanese someday. Number 6 you have mentioned and others you also summed up.

1. sanshiro-japanese-novel-by-natsume-soseki 三四郎

2. kinkaku-ji-the-temple-of-the-golden-pavilion-japanese-novel-by-yukio-mishima 金閣寺

3. inochi-urimasu-life-on-sale-japanese-novel-by-yukio-mishima 命売ります

4. kokuhaku-confessions-japanese-novel-written-by-kanae-minato 告白

5. kami-sama-japanese-novel-written-by-hiromi-kawakami 神様

6. inei-raisan-in-praise-of-shadows-essay-written-by-junichiro-tanizaki陰翳礼讃

7. nihon-chinbotsu-jou-japan-sinks-japanese-novel-written-by-sakyo-komatsu

日本沈没

8. fushigina-toshokan-the-strange-library-japanese-novel-written-by-haruki-murakami ふしぎな図書館

9. koohii-ga-samenai-uchi-ni-before-the-coffee-gets-cold-japanese-novel-written-by-toshikazu-kawaguchi コーヒーが冷めないうちに

10. hakase-no-aishita-sushiki-the-professor-s-beloved-equation-japanese-novel-written-by-yoko-ogawa 博士の愛した数式

11. tugumi-japanese-novel-written-by-banana-yoshimoto

12. The Sound of the Mountain (Yama no Oto) is a novel by Japanese writer Yasunari Kawabata 山の音

Expand full comment
author

Such a great list! Sounds like you have a solid reading plan for the next year Koppa…

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you, yes indeed, these current times I can read even more, seeing we still can't really go anywhere. I was happy to hear about your new book order on Amazon. I think you must have an amazing book collection. I look forward to read your new posts. I hope I be able to read that well in Japanese one day. Still have a long way to go.

Expand full comment
author

My collection is getting too big…There's not enough space in my tiny apartment so I have part of my books in storage and some at work.

Don't worry, you'll get there. Just keep doing what you're doing and read a little bit every day.

Expand full comment
Apr 4, 2021Liked by Bunsuke

Thank you for the excellent newsletter! I’ve been reading the excerpts every morning. I’m so glad when I see female authors come up, and I even ended up buying Yoko Tawada’s book (English translation) today! I’m currently enjoying reading a book intended for Japanese elementary school students called 不思議駄菓子屋銭天堂, but my goal is to read adult fiction. I’m looking forward to the next newsletter ☺️

Expand full comment
author

Hi Renee, thanks so much for your generous comment! So cool that you ended up getting Tawada Yoko's book. I just put in a big order with Amazon.co.jp myself. Which book did you get?

I had never seen 不思議駄菓子屋銭天堂, but this looks great! I also know of another series that was designed to get Japanese high school kids into reading literature. It's called『文豪の怪談 ジュニア・セレクション』and consists of one set of 5 books, and one set of 3 books. It has loads of explanations of difficult words in the sidelines (also in Japanese). Maybe this is something you would also enjoy...

Expand full comment